What It Means To Become A Published Author

Allright! So I am self published at Amazon Kindle, a hotbed of bad writing.

The Amazon Kindle version of the  book is featured on my Facebook page:

THE DEMON CHRONICLES, VOLUME I, Lovers of mine do fly on damaged wings.

I am still waiting for the print proof, which will take some time. I cannot wait to get a stack of real books to look at while I figure out how not to sell them!

I am not a bad writer and my book is in the mix now.  I have been a web writer for most of a decade and have been published in many places.  See my Twitter feed to the right for my news and other articles!

This is my first actual book. It is a novella, which is officially between 30,000 and 40,000 words.

My first literary offering is Volume I  in a series of  7 novellas. This series will carry the reader through tales of role players who forget that they are playing; through the fractured and reconstructed lives of three unique and engaging heroes; and to the final destination. The first book is heavy on character development and establishing the major themes that will run throughout the series.

The story begins with a murder so horrible that this tale is not for the kiddies. Then it takes the reader and the heroes through developments that shock, stun, and generate real laughter. This is why the tag is:

“A story of love, more love, demons, stealth and crimes.”

The setting is San Francisco, California. The story goes around the world to London, Cornwall, the Greek Isles and will include parts of Europe where I have lived or visited.

The characters all come together from different parts of the world, but they are guided toward love and friendship with each other  in ways that are suspiciously convenient for someone or some force in the universe.

There is plenty of  action in the book, too.

Are the events supernatural in origin or are they just serendipity? It is up to the reader to get the  book and find out!

For those who want to publish at Amazon Kindle or CreateSpace without spending a dime!

The process is a burdensome one, but the author who sticks with it and survives the frustrating process, the rewards are tremendous. There are more than enough blogs and posts with help, both at the sites and at places like Hub Pages.

The manuscript has to be single spaced, paragraphs indented by default (not by tabbing the first line over), and there are no spaces between paragraphs.

The mansuscript page size has to be formatted to fit the size that you chose for your printed book. I chose 6″ x 9″ and set up my manuscript page for that size.

Simply corral the word processor and set the page size to 6″ x 9″ if that will be the size of your book. Then upload to create space, read the alerts and notes,  play with the margins, and keep uploaded until the text fits properly.

 CreateSpace is for getting printed books. Kindle is for e-books that go on Amazon Kindle.

ISBN: These are International Standard Book Numbers, and they cost a bundle.  This number identifies your unique book and only your unique book.  It is important for the book industry, especially when titles are the same or very much alike. Amazon will give one for free, but it is good only for Amazon. I was so broke that I took the free one.


The Book cover For Kindle: I imagine that there is a way to do a back book cover for the e-book, and will have to work that out later. I just used a front cover that I had already designed. This was done at Photobucket PRO, which has an incredible new photo editing software. I simply sized a photo that I took with my HTC Thunderbolt at 8 mp.

Then I used the text option, found a font that I liked, and put the simple words on the photo.  Then I downloaded it, converted it to PDF, and it is now at Kindle as the cover!

The Book Cover for Print: UPDATE: I never got mine off the ground! But I did find Cover Creator…finally! There were several pages of templates and I used one of them. Hopefully, it will work!

My friend at Hub Pages, Aya Katz, did a great article on how to use Gimp, a free photo editing software, to get the job done.

You must submit a full cover, with front, spine and back for the printed book, or Create Space will give the book a white back and  spine, which looks horrible.

The cover has to include the front, back and spine in one complete image:

Spine: The spine width is based on the number of pages in your book! Here’s the secret handshake for the spine: multiply the number of pages in your book by .002252. The result is your spine width. I made a separate spine photo at Photobucket, starting at 100 pixels by 800 pixels, then re-sized until I thought it was right.

Back Cover: You put the back cover to the left and leave enough room at the bottom for bar codes and other stuff that the printer will add.

When you get a decent cover, save it as “rich text”! This may take a while, but saves the photos and the graphics.

The covers must be uploaded in PDF format. I had no luck with the PDF download software, but found a place to convert the file  for free online. Be careful with online photo to PDF converters, however, because the PDF result has to be downloaded from the site and  may contain viruses and other malware.

I did my cover in Word because I am a neophyte at fancier programs.

I started by inserting the same photo as the Kindle cover.  Then, I  used the word processor’s  graphics and paint tools to do what I have been doing since I was a child.

Here is the book cover that went  to CreateSpace for the printed book: 

For the printed book, the spine, front cover and back cover are all integrated into one giant image. The front cover is to the right. The back cover is to the left.  I put the main content well toward the center of each section. Hopefully I left enough around the edges for it to trim without it looking awful.

Giving up is not an option:

I certainly was about to give up! After spending days reading “how to” posts, downloading Gimp, trying to figure out PDF converters and fighting through a host of issues that I had no clue about, I was about to toss it all in.

But I went back to the software that I knew: Microsoft Word, and it all paid off.

I will learn how to work with Gimp, which is like a free version of Adobe Photoshop and a very powerful tool.

Now, I will stick with the layout that I have and will change the cloud photos for each volume. I will keep the text and layout for a seamless design concept that goes throughout the series.

Encouragement:

Give it a try! Write a manuscript, copyright it, and run it through. It can be a compilation of your best blogs, short stories, or poetry.

Find a great digital photo and play around with the cover text.

See what happens!

